Revive

Wiebe, Jordan 40152To kick us off with this months blog is Jordan Wiebe. He is currently a junior at BBC studying towards his preaching degree. He is originally from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, but his family currently resides in Middleton, Idaho. This months theme is Revive in light of our high school conference. This blog theme gives us an an idea of what “Revive” means to Boise Bible College students.

 

I love NASCAR. I grew up watching the sport and it continues to be a big family event every weekend. It’s almost as big as Preview! Even though Preview doesn’t happen every weekend it is still a big event that takes over BBC. I have always enjoyed the energy that surrounds Preview. By the time Preview rolls around we as students are getting pretty tired with homework and the grind of everyday life. However, Preview is like a shot in the arm that wakes us all up and spurs us on…at least until we crash after everyone has left! But seriously, the energy and the passion that the students bring is enough to keep us going all the way to the finish line.

The word revive is defined in Webster’s as, “to return to consciousness or life; become active or flourishing again.” This semester, to me, has been all about revival. Over the past 6+ months I have noticed myself starting to drift away from God. It wasn’t anything intentional, it just happened gradually over time. Overall, I believe it could be chalked up to laziness. Whether it was my decision not to pray because I was “too tired” or “too busy.” To my decision not to dwell on God’s Word because I will, “do it tomorrow.” I actually once heard a quote from my grandfather about that. He told me, “Once you put off reading the Bible, the devil will make sure you never do it again.” For months that statement was true for me. I had put off dwelling on the Word and praying, and it became significantly easier to push it to the side the next day.

As a result of all this I began to feel dry and empty inside, like something was missing in my life. So I finally decided to do something about it. For me I started simple, I began a challenge to pray every day for 30 days. I also combined Scripture reading with this. Again, I kept it simple by reading a verse or two a day. While I didn’t see drastic or immediate improvement, I did feel my emptiness and dryness slowly fade away. When people are lost and don’t know what to do and are in need of a revival, they typically bite off more than they can chew. The best way to start is to start small. A simple plan would be to pray once a day in the morning when you get up. Follow this up with a verse or two from Scripture. Over time this habit will begin to grow to the point where you are praying multiple times a day and reading a chapter a day! This is a great way to start if you are in need revival. Remember! Nothing is more important than your relationship with God!

Leave a Reply

