“It Is Finished”

Weissinger, Christina 39234

This weeks article is written by Christina Weissinger! She is a sophomore at BBC and studying Worship Ministry with a minor in Youth Ministry. A fun fact about Christina is that she started attending courses at BBC when she was 14!

 

 

Thirty-five students looked at me with sympathetic eyes as I concluded my testimony with this verse, Isaiah 46:4, “Even to your old age and gray hairs I am He, I am He who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” The students clapped and thanked me for being so transparent. I was in Northern Ireland telling middle school and high school students about my life in America and my struggles. I told them about my family trouble, my depression, anxiety, and my suicide attempts. I hesitated to tell my testimony because I did not know how to communicate the hope I had found in Christ without revealing my dark past and thinking about those painful experiences.

When the clapping had ended and events continued on, many students approached me and personally thanked me for sharing my experience with God, and how He rescued me from hardship. I felt guilty as they thanked me because I neglected to tell the miracle that God worked in my life. The miracle of being revived.

During a dark season of my life I had attempted to commit suicide two times. Both times I had take enough medicine to fill a pharmacy, and both times I woke up the next morning completely fine. Both times God told me, “I’m not done with you yet”. My story of revival and how God literally brought me back to life is reflected in Paul’s writings when he writes, “And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world…But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved” (Eph. 2:1,4). I love that part where it says, “BUT God,” because it doesn’t matter what we do, it doesn’t matter how far we wander, God is going to keep our story going and add a comma and say, “BUT God”, because He is merciful and is the God who brings the dead to life. He is the Alpha and Omega, and the perfecter of our faith. He is the One who brings revival because sin is beaten and death has been buried in its grave.

Revival is possible because “It Is Finished”. Tetelestai.

One comment

  1. I recieved an email from Mickey and i started to go through the websites, i cabe acrossed this to see what “it is Finished” was about. This has hit me hard in my heart and started to tear up in the middle of my class. I want to say congratulations on writing this And coming out with your testimony. You are blessed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

